• Home
  • >
  • Be cyber up-to-date
  • >
  • C3 Luxembourg joins the National Cybersecurity Coordination Centres and Agencies Stakeholders Group in the CONCORDIA project

C3 Luxembourg joins the National Cybersecurity Coordination Centres and Agencies Stakeholders Group in the CONCORDIA project

A project initiated and funded by the EU Commission to strengthen the EU Cybersecurity ecosystem


CONCORDIA is one of the four Cybersecurity pilot projects initiated and funded by the EU Commission in 2019, whose key objective is to inclusively and comprehensively engage diverse competencies and stakeholders to result in a high-impact EU-wide Cybersecurity ecosystem.
CONCORDIA also aims at providing expertise to European policy makers and industry, in particular with regards to the upcoming creation of the EU Cybersecurity Competence Center (EUCCC) and its related network of National Cybersecurity Coordination Centers (NCCC).

Some specific aspects of the project focus on competence and capacity building such as developing sector-specific (vertical) and cross-sector (horizontal) industrial pilots with building incubators, or allowing entrepreneurs and individuals to stress their solutions through the launch of open-calls. In this framework, a European Education Ecosystem for Cybersecurity will be established. Therefore, CONCORDIA will extend traditional training courses with new virtual courses (MOOCs and SPOCs) and a variety of outreach activities, including high-school curricula development, competitions and cyber ranges.

Recognizing that different stakeholders (national or institutional) represent different levels of competencies and with associated differing levels of engagement, CONCORDIA has established dedicated processes to engage the initial set (to be expanded as needed) of stakeholders to the consortium as:

  • the National Cybersecurity Coordination Centres and Agencies StakeholdersGroup (NSG),
  • the Liaison StakeholdersGroup (LSG), and
  • the Observer StakeholdersGroup (OSG).

C3 Luxembourg has joined the NSG group and will participate in workshop sessions focusing on identifying the needs of the future NCCCs, and designing the generic governance and operations frameworks to fulfill the identified requirements. The NSG group is made of current, upcoming and future NCCCs from various member states.

  • More specifically, present members are Cyprus' National CSIRT, the German BSI, the Institute of Computer Science at the Masaryk University, The National Cyber Security Centre of the Netherlands, the National Cybersecurity Agency of Greece, the Swedish Civil Contingencies Agency and the Swedish Research Institute.

The purpose of the NSG is to support the development of the proposed network (including both the NCCCs and the Cybersecurity Competence Community) with a specific focus on design and governance issues for the future NCCCs. One of the working group’s outcomes will be to provide a toolbox to the interested member states, which will set a model to build and operate a NCCC, a new type of cybersecurity organisation.

NCCC at a glance

The National Cybersecurity Competence and Coordination Center (NCCC) is an entity in charge of supporting the activity of the EU Cybersecurity Competence Center (EUCCC) at national level. NCCCs will function as national contact points for the Competence Community and the EUCCC. They are considered as the ’gatekeepers’ for the cybersecurity community in their country. They provide support to carry out actions under the Regulation establishing the EUCCC, and they can provide financial support to national and local ecosystems. The overall goal of the EUCCC and related network of NCCCs is to strengthen Europe’s cybersecurity capacity and competitiveness.